Why was there no Super Over tie in India vs New Zealand 3rd T20I?

Click Here to Watch this Event Live Online for Free!

The third international T20 match between India and New Zealand ended in a draw by the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method at McLean Park in Napier on Tuesday (November 22nd).

The fine fifties of Devon Conway (59 of 49) and Glenn Phillips (54 of 33) helped New Zealand set a moderate visitor target of 161.

India fly-half Ishan Kishan started well, but Adam Milne got the better of him in the second half. Then New Zealand skipper Tim Southee put a further dent in India’s pursuit with a few dismissals in the following leg. He claimed the wickets of Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer on successive balls.

India were down to 21 for 3 wickets at the end of three overs before substitute skipper Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav added 39 runs from 22 balls. Just after the power play overs, Suryakumar went for a 13-10 after looking to clear Ish Sodhi’s ball, but found Glenn Phillips in the middle of the wicket.

Just as Sodhi and Mitchell Santner contained runs between 6 and 9 to put India on their backs, rains halted play for the second time in the series. Hardik (30* of 18) and Deepak Hooda (9* of 9) were at bat for the Men in Blue before the covers were brought to the field.

Why was there no Super Over when the match was tied via DLS?

According to the DLS requirement, India’s score after nine overs should be 75. The visitors were exactly stuck at 75/4 after nine overs before the rain played a spoilsport.

To New Zealand’s dismay, the game ended in a draw after India leveled the scores on DLS. If the team managed by Hardik Pandya had scored more than 75 points after nine overs, they would have been declared the winner of the T20I final.

Usually the norm is to use the Super Over to determine the results when a match ends in a stalemate in the Twenty20 format. However, if weather conditions do not allow play to advance, the match will be played via DLS (the team beating second should play at least five overs in the T20I).

Since the DLS scores were leveled and there was no chance of the game continuing due to the wet conditions, the game ended in a tie.

This was the third instance of a T20 international match resulting in a tie. Netherlands v Malaysia (Kirtipur, Nepal, April 2021) and Malta v Gibraltar (Marsa, Malta, October 2021) are the other two T20I matches that ended in a DLS tie.

The Hardik-led side won the three-game series 1-0 after beating New Zealand by 65 points in the second T20I at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui. The first match in Wellington was abandoned due to rain.

Quick links

More from Sportskeeda

Profile Picture

var fbPixelFired = false;
document.addEventListener(“scroll”, function() { loadFBPixel() });
document.addEventListener(“mousemove”, function() { loadFBPixel() });
function loadFBPixel() {
if(fbPixelFired) {
fbPixelFired = true;
fbq(‘init’, ‘952063904834769’);
fbq(‘track’, “PageView”);
fbq(‘track’, ‘ViewContent’);

Click Here to Watch this Event Live Online for Free!

By Peter Kavinsky

Peter Kavinsky is the Executive Editor at